The Advisory Board was establised to ensure that the heritage and market position of Westscheme continues to be valued and to grow.

Deidre Wilmott

Deidre Willmott (Chief Executive Officer - CCIWA)
Deidre Willmott has been Chief Executive Officer of the Chamber of Commerce & Industry of Western Australia since March 2014. Previously she has worked as Chief of Staff to Premiers Richard Court and Colin Barnett, General Manager of the Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games Organising Committee and Director External Relations at Fortescue Metals Group. Deidre is Chair of St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls, a director of the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the Kimberley Foundation of Australia and the Perth USAsia Centre. Deidre is a lawyer with a Bachelor of Jurisprudence and a Bachelor of Laws from UWA and a Master of Laws from Melbourne University.

David Gray WestScheme Advisory Board key staff profile photo picture pic  

David Gray AM
David Gray is Managing Director of David Gray & Co Pty Ltd, a manufacturer and distributor of horticulture and agriculture products in Western Australia. David is also Governing Director of Scandinavian Investments Pty Ltd. Previously David was Chairman of the Australian Made Campaign Limited, Chairman of Chemcert and member of a number of government policy groups. David is a Member of the Order of Australia and has served as President of the Chamber of Commerce & Industry in both Western Australia and Canberra, and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. David has a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Western Australia.

Reg HowardSmith WestScheme Advisory Board key staff profile photo picture pic  

Reg Howard Smith
Reg Howard-Smith is Chief Executive of the Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia (CME). Prior to becoming Chief Executive in 2007, Reg was the Director of CME with responsibilities across Human Resources, OH&S, education & training, immigration, skills shortage initiatives and finance. Reg previously worked for Woodside, George Weston Foods and BHP. He has a degree from the University of Western Australia majoring in economics.

Meredith Hammat 

Meredith Hammat
Meredith has over 17 years’ experience in the trade union movement, having worked as an Organiser and Assistant Secretary with the Australian Services Union in local government, energy and community services industries. Meredith has a Masters degree in Industrial Relations. She was elected as President of UnionsWA in 2008 and has been Secretary since October 2012 and is a member of the ACTU Executive.

Mike Zoetbrood

Mike Zoetbrood
Mike Zoetbrood was elected the WA Branch Secretary of The Australian Workers’ Union (AWU) in March 2016. Mike commenced with the AWU in 2008 as an Organiser and later held the position of Assistant Secretary. Mike’s work background is predominantly in the Gold mining industry including studies at the WA School of Mines and later completing a Bachelor Degree in Mineral Science at Murdoch University. Before becoming a union official, Mike worked in various industries and positions including: process operator, metallurgical technician and metallurgist in the gold industry, security and first aid officer, galvanising workshop and ice-cream factory. Mike is a member of the UnionsWA Executive and was recently appointed to the Commission for Occupational Safety and Health.

Steve McCartney  WestScheme Advisory Board key staff profile photo picture pic  

Steve McCartney
Steve McCartney is Secretary of the WA Branch of the Australian Manufacturing Union (AMWU). Before joining AMWU as a union official in 2001 Steve spent many years as a heavy plant fitter and also worked in the stevedoring industry. He is a current Vice-President of UnionsWA, a Board member of the Building and Construction Industry Training Fund, the Motor Industry Training Association and the Construction Industry Long Service Leave Payments Board. Steve is also a committee member of Apprenticeships Training Australia (ATA), the Construction Industry Safety Advisory Committee and the WA Engineering & Automotive Training Council Inc.

Download Adobe Acrobat to view PDF documents
Back to top